Testimonials

Highly recommend Automotive technology!!!! Greg is very honest and will only work on what is necessary. Have been bringing my car there for over 30 years.

jeanmarie nizen

Jan 23, 2020

I have been a customer for many years, which speaks to how confident I am taking my vehicles there for service.

Louis Chevalier

Jan 23, 2020

Great shop , Excellent Mechanics, they always find time to stop and help, whether it is putting on wipers for me , changing a tire, Brake job etc. They always use Quality parts as well which is important , I wouldn’t want cheap brakes when it comes to safety of my family, you guys truly care and I appreciate it Denis H.

merchant express

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going there for years (since I live nearby) and from the first visit, I felt comfortable that Tommy, Greg and the rest of the guys were trust worthy. They have gone out of their way to get the work done in a timely and efficient manner and went out of their way to do so for my wife and I on more than one occasion. And now they even plug tires for free! Highly recommended.

Joe Pietaro

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going there for years (since I live nearby) and from the first visit, I felt comfortable that Tommy, Greg and the rest of the guys were trust worthy. They have gone out of their way to get the work done in a timely and efficient manner and went out of their way to do so for my wife and I on more than one occasion. And now they even plug tires for free! Highly recommended.

Elsie Schmidgall

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going there for years (since I live nearby) and from the first visit, I felt comfortable that Tommy, Greg and the rest of the guys were trust worthy. They have gone out of their way to get the work done in a timely and efficient manner and went out of their way to do so for my wife and I on more than one occasion. And now they even plug tires for free! Highly recommended.

Tom Keogh

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going to Auto Tech. for years; I wouldn’t go anywhere else!! Greg; Tom & Tommy and all the guys take excellent care of me & my car!! I commute for work; and must make sure my car is always in top shape, the guys at Auto Tech keep me going!’ They are also great at letting me know what absolutely needs to be done right away or if things can wait awhile; this way I am never hit with any huge bill !! They are fair; helpful; honest & I just think they are great!!!! Love you guys; you are the BEST!!!

Abigail B.

Jan 23, 2020

All of my experiences here have been positive!! Tom and Greg truly care about their customers and their safety. I had brakes done before I went on a vacation and Greg knew I was apprehensive about some issues… he ended up calling me on my vacation to check up on everything. Who does that anymore??? It blew me away. The customer service and concern are top-notch and I wouldn’t consider any other repair shop!!

Lisa DiOrio-Anderson

Jan 23, 2020

Three reasons I go to Automotive Technology: Honest evaluation Friendly service Expert care And this last visit was no different from the rest; no less than the best.

Robert Savino

Jan 23, 2020

First time I went here was a great success. I just got an inspection and the staff was very nice. They did not try to sell me unnecessary work. Looking forward to doing business with them in the future.

tjvalley

Jan 23, 2020

First time I went here was a great success. I just got an inspection and the staff was very nice. They did not try to sell me unnecessary work. Looking forward to doing business with them in the future.

Gail Saunders

Jan 23, 2020

First time I went here was a great success. I just got an inspection and the staff was very nice. They did not try to sell me unnecessary work. Looking forward to doing business with them in the future.

Stephen Jones

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly straightforward service and reasonable prices. My first oil change at a local shop since moving to the area. Will be coming back

L D

Jan 23, 2020

This place is great! I came here by chance when my alternator failed last year and they have been taking care of my cars ever since. They are trustworthy with fair pricing, and always get the job done in a timely manner. It’s reassuring to have mechanics you can trust and I would recommend automotive technology to anyone!

Kristin Robinson

Jan 23, 2020

Automotive Technology has always diagnosed and repaired problems with both of my cars from minor oil changes to major transmission repairs for many years. Courtesy and mechanical knowledge makes for a great business, try them you won’t be disappointed!

George Fontaine

Jan 23, 2020

Best Auto Repair.. Always honest and repair service in top grade .Greg and Staff try to make time to take care of your problem even without an appointment.

ElsieS

Jan 23, 2020

Best Auto Repair.. Always honest and repair service in top grade .Greg and Staff try to make time to take care of your problem even without an appointment.

Damaris Contin

Jan 23, 2020

Best Auto Repair.. Always honest and repair service in top grade .Greg and Staff try to make time to take care of your problem even without an appointment.

Daniel Calise

Jan 23, 2020

The Work Was done Well And the Price was Reasonable

Ralph Rametti

Jan 23, 2020

Always willing to help out when in need. Honest mechanics, know what they are doing. Been going there many years and will continue. Greg, Tommy and Tom are TOPS! (just need a bigger parking lot :))

Patricia Edwards

Jan 23, 2020

The only place I trust my car too!! Been a customer for along time and they are always there when I need them.

Jacque Thomas

Jan 23, 2020

Been going here for 16 years. Honest and very accommodating. Tommy and Greg are the best.

Greg Barry

Jan 23, 2020

Been going here for 16 years. Honest and very accommodating. Tommy and Greg are the best.

Angelina Ballerina

Jan 23, 2020

Been going here for 16 years. Honest and very accommodating. Tommy and Greg are the best.

Jack DiS

Jan 23, 2020

The techs explain what needs to be done. The work is done correctly. If I ever had a problem or a question Greg has always taken the time to look or address the issue. About a year ago there was a “noise”. It was late and I took a chance the shop was open, got lucky Tom was there. Tom stopped what he was doing and looked at the car. He said the car should not be driven. He took us home because he said the engine may seize. The next day he had time to look at it. It was terminal. Another time, I was buying a used car – Tom inspected the car top to bottom. Found a manufacture defect. The machine TOTALLY missed a weld. The car was not joined properly by the passengers rear door. It made the car look crooked and compromised the safety of the passengers. I did not buy the car.

Gloria Nadel

Jan 23, 2020

Always expert and accomodating, even when they’re very busy — which they usually are because they’re so good.

Walter Bode

Jan 23, 2020

These guys are great here. Let me tell you why. I had my car (Buick) worked on at another, to me, infamous national chain auto repair shop. I needed tires and this infamous repair shop also charged me for brakes and failed my cars inspection because they supposedly found a fuel leak. This infamous shop told me they don’t repair fuel leaks and you have to take the car somewhere else to get it repaired. So, I had to take the car to a real repair and mechanic shop, “Automotive Technology of West Islip.” To begin with, the infamous repair shop should had told me this BEFORE working on my car not after making money on me. Anyway, the guys at “Automotive Technology of West Islip,” Tom and Greg, told me they checked my car out for over two hours and did not find any fuel leaks. My car passed inspection with no problems. These guys were honest here and they gained another customer. Thanks again guys!

Elaine Tora

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going to these guys for the past three years they are priced well, honest and great staff very hard to find those things in an automotive shop these days but glad I found them and will continue to give them my business I suggest giving them a try you won’t regret it.

Brian R

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going to these guys for the past three years they are priced well, honest and great staff very hard to find those things in an automotive shop these days but glad I found them and will continue to give them my business I suggest giving them a try you won’t regret it.

Mark Morales

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going to these guys for the past three years they are priced well, honest and great staff very hard to find those things in an automotive shop these days but glad I found them and will continue to give them my business I suggest giving them a try you won’t regret it.

kristine hemerlein

Jan 23, 2020

With my dad being a retired mechanic, and me working on cars with him from childhood until my early 20’s, we always had a high standard looking for a reputable mechanic since my father is now disabled and I have herniated disks in my neck preventing me from even doing own oil changes any more. We moved from Nassau to Suffolk over 5 years ago and were nervous to find a new mechanic since we liked our old one a lot. Luckily my very picky (in a good way!) father-in-law recommended to us Automotive Technology of West Islip. The rare times my family needed work done to our cars, either Greg or Tom patiently described things to us on the phone, educated us, were descriptive, and are always very personable. The company does great work, are prompt, reliable, polite, and great quality! I would highly recommend Automotive Technology of West Islip if you live anywhere nearby for a great mechanic!

Mike M

Jan 23, 2020

Great, honest work, have been coming here 17+ years, fair prices.

William Hamm

Jan 23, 2020

I have been coming here for years, great mechanics and great customer service.

Bob W

Jan 23, 2020

Tom is an honest man. That’s all you need to know

David Bacarella

Jan 23, 2020

Tom is an honest man. That’s all you need to know

Dorothy Moore

Jan 23, 2020

Tom is an honest man. That’s all you need to know

jeanine sienkiewicz

Jan 23, 2020

Been going to AT for 20 years. Would never go anywhere else, great people, great service…!

Joe Timlin

Jan 23, 2020

These guys are honest, professional, courteous, and do great work. I highly recommend them!

Frank Valenzisi

Jan 23, 2020

I had my car inspected and it was done very quickly and efficiently. I will defonitely use Automotive Technology in the future.

Pamela DeCeck

Jan 23, 2020

The guys here are honest hard working and very knowledgeable. It’s rare to find a mechanic you can trust nowadays. But Auto tech is one of thoes places.greg always explains in detail what he doing to my car before he does it.. great place and I never felt like I got taken to the cleaners

joe guarino

Jan 23, 2020

The guys here are honest hard working and very knowledgeable. It’s rare to find a mechanic you can trust nowadays. But Auto tech is one of thoes places.greg always explains in detail what he doing to my car before he does it.. great place and I never felt like I got taken to the cleaners

Raymond Schmitt

Jan 23, 2020

The guys here are honest hard working and very knowledgeable. It’s rare to find a mechanic you can trust nowadays. But Auto tech is one of thoes places.greg always explains in detail what he doing to my car before he does it.. great place and I never felt like I got taken to the cleaners

Kristen Fritz

Jan 23, 2020

After bringing my car to the Dealer because my powerseat did not work and the Nissan Dealer advising I had to change my Engine Harness, main harness, and door harness, I brought my Nissan and Greg the wiring expert fixed a burnt wire. Unbelievable what the Dealers will try and get away with.

Glenn M.

Jan 23, 2020

I have been taking my cars there for some time now and will continue to do so. Never have a problem getting an appointment and Tom and Greg always make sure the work is done right and on time. Thanks guys.

Gustavo C Pino

Jan 23, 2020

Fixed my 2001 Mustang as needed a fuel pump . They were extremely polite, comparitably priced to others and went above and beyond when the first fuel pump obtained was defective (this happens alot with fuel pumps). I will be using Auto Tech of W. Islip again.

Stephen Seine

Jan 23, 2020

The best!

Lisa Hagen

Jan 23, 2020

The best!

Peter Morrisey

Jan 23, 2020

The best!

Daniel Lewis

Jan 23, 2020

I have been a loyal satisfied customer for many years. Recently, Greg and his team did my braking system and now it feels like I am driving a new car, well I have this Rav4 for 5 years now. Salute for their dedication and integrity! Elpidio Dela Cruz of Bay Shore

Elpidio Dela Cruz

Jan 23, 2020

I have always had a great experience with the service at Automotive Technology. Greg and Tom have always been incredibly accommodating and knowledgeable. You will not be disappointed!

Kevin Gabrysiak

Jan 23, 2020

Prices were reasonable and everything was explained to me beforehand. They fixed my car alignment and put two tires on for me

Virginia Bishop

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly, kind, and understandingly honest service, one of the finest in the area.

CW Jackson

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly, kind, and understandingly honest service, one of the finest in the area.

charles lombardo

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly, kind, and understandingly honest service, one of the finest in the area.

1 2

Jan 23, 2020

I took my car in for an oil change last week and they were great. The job was done way faster than expected and they contacted me as soon as it was done. Friendly and professional staff. Highly recommend

Bobby Digital

Jan 23, 2020

Everyone there is great!

Maryann Ferrone

Jan 23, 2020

I will alway’s bring my car to Automotive Technology at West Islip. Excellent and alway’s a happy ending with my car’s very nice people.

James Tortora

Jan 23, 2020

The guys at Auto Tech are great! Honest, Friendly Neighborhood Shop. Wouldn;t go anywhere else.

Rob Esposito

Jan 23, 2020

The guys at Auto Tech are great! Honest, Friendly Neighborhood Shop. Wouldn;t go anywhere else.

Rosemary Horan

Jan 23, 2020

The guys at Auto Tech are great! Honest, Friendly Neighborhood Shop. Wouldn;t go anywhere else.

Jeannine Kirshbaum

Jan 23, 2020

I have been going to Automotive Technology since 1997… They have always been honest and always do a great job no matter how big or small the job is. Greg is very knowledgeable and kind. The work is done in a timely manner and their prices are very reasonable. I will never go anywhere else!

Dyan Alaimo

Jan 23, 2020

This shop has always done right by me. Staff have all been pleasant to deal with. They do great work and always back it up

Jason Cohen

Jan 23, 2020

Always honest and they do a great job !!! Our go to place

Marks Family Fun Archive

Jan 23, 2020

Very professional. Accurate diagnosis of problems. Never an issue. Won’t bring our vehicles anywhere else for repair or service!!

Pam Gaffney

Jan 23, 2020

my car a 2003 mustang cobra (love it) had a problem car just would not hold a charge drive it around the block and try to start it and boom its dead again this went on for 2 years brought it to FORD they fixed stuff that didnt need to be fixed and said they think they fixed the problem by putting a $125 battery in and some other bs for $700 and did not fix it next i brought to a shop thar ive been dealing with since 1979 i wont say the shop because they r friends but again could not solve the problem they said it was the trunk light was staying on and draining the battery NOT so lets put another battery in because we r to lazy to solve tthe actual problem again battery battery battery so now i just dont drive the car it just sits in front of my house so if you see an 03 cobra or any car for that matter with low miles on it its not because it was intentional its because its always BROKEN and then there is auto tek in west islip on union blvd so i bring the car in and the same day i get a call car is fixed it was the line lock draining the battery I WILL NEVER GO TO ANY OTHER REPAIR SHOP AGAIN THIS IS THE BEST REPAIR SHOP EVER PETE J

Peter Johnson

Jan 23, 2020

my car a 2003 mustang cobra (love it) had a problem car just would not hold a charge drive it around the block and try to start it and boom its dead again this went on for 2 years brought it to FORD they fixed stuff that didnt need to be fixed and said they think they fixed the problem by putting a $125 battery in and some other bs for $700 and did not fix it next i brought to a shop thar ive been dealing with since 1979 i wont say the shop because they r friends but again could not solve the problem they said it was the trunk light was staying on and draining the battery NOT so lets put another battery in because we r to lazy to solve tthe actual problem again battery battery battery so now i just dont drive the car it just sits in front of my house so if you see an 03 cobra or any car for that matter with low miles on it its not because it was intentional its because its always BROKEN and then there is auto tek in west islip on union blvd so i bring the car in and the same day i get a call car is fixed it was the line lock draining the battery I WILL NEVER GO TO ANY OTHER REPAIR SHOP AGAIN THIS IS THE BEST REPAIR SHOP EVER PETE J

Victoria Giordani

Jan 23, 2020

my car a 2003 mustang cobra (love it) had a problem car just would not hold a charge drive it around the block and try to start it and boom its dead again this went on for 2 years brought it to FORD they fixed stuff that didnt need to be fixed and said they think they fixed the problem by putting a $125 battery in and some other bs for $700 and did not fix it next i brought to a shop thar ive been dealing with since 1979 i wont say the shop because they r friends but again could not solve the problem they said it was the trunk light was staying on and draining the battery NOT so lets put another battery in because we r to lazy to solve tthe actual problem again battery battery battery so now i just dont drive the car it just sits in front of my house so if you see an 03 cobra or any car for that matter with low miles on it its not because it was intentional its because its always BROKEN and then there is auto tek in west islip on union blvd so i bring the car in and the same day i get a call car is fixed it was the line lock draining the battery I WILL NEVER GO TO ANY OTHER REPAIR SHOP AGAIN THIS IS THE BEST REPAIR SHOP EVER PETE J

Evan Meyers

Jan 23, 2020

My husband brought in his Pontiac G8 for some work. These people are awesome. The most surprising was a follow up phone call to see how everything was etc. Very professional! Highly recommend!

Mayra Salazar

Jan 23, 2020

I won’t take my cars anywhere else! Knowledgeable and pleasant staff, old school business values. Many people from the neighborhood get their cars serviced there as well.

Audrey

Jan 23, 2020

I’ve been a steady customer since the early 90’s. These Guys are great and really know their stuff when it comes to Auto repair! Highly recommend!

Michael Sephton

Jan 23, 2020

Always straight forward and trustworthy. Moved 3 times and still travel here for service.

Stew

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly , also notice that not only they repair cars ..Do lawnmower repair too.

Debra g

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly , also notice that not only they repair cars ..Do lawnmower repair too.

Ryan Eve

Jan 23, 2020

Friendly , also notice that not only they repair cars ..Do lawnmower repair too.

Jennifer McDermott

Jan 23, 2020

A good mechanic is like a good doctor. You gotta be able to trust them. Greg and his team have all the honesty and professionalism you want in auto repair & maintenance. Been using them for close to 20 years, many more to come.

Eternal Vigilance

Jan 23, 2020

top quality work and honest , hard to find in this business

Cat Spina

Jan 23, 2020

I have been a loyal customer of ATOWI since 1993 when Tommy was working out of his garage. Back then I had a really unreliable car Mazda MX3 and Tommy took it apart and lent me one of his cars so I could get back and forth. No one was able to fix that stupid car but Tommy did. I never used another mechanic after that. As fate would have it I wound up buying a house in WI and he opened his shop on the corner of my block. Destiny! Through the years I’ve had car after car that I only trust to these guys at ATOWI. Now Greg and fake Tom (at the desk 😂) take care of me like family. Once in a while it’s a treat to see Jackie and Tommy but that’s like a Bigfoot sighting these days! Lol. I love Auto Tech and send everyone I know here. The service is top notch. The people are friendly and warm and most importantly they will not lie to you or just take your money for fun. Greg is the best and the mechanics are solid. Why would you even go anywhere else?

Tina Degati

Jan 23, 2020

Long term customer, always happy.

Thomas Crosley

Jan 23, 2020

Good for oil changes

Troy Smit

Jan 23, 2020

Good for oil changes

Carlos Alejandro

Jan 23, 2020

Good for oil changes

Connor Schmidt

Jan 23, 2020

As I mentioned in other comments, I have been a customer of Automotive Technology for 20 years. I have always had a very positive experience with the front office and management. As was my last visit on October 26. 2019 for a NY State inspection. There was no wait time, because the car was 1 year old, I needed a Safety check only, which was completed in 10 minutes. Automotive Technology has my vote for excellence in customer care, superior knowledge in automobile care and repair. Best regards to everyone, mainly Tommy, Greg and Tom. Cecilia PS. Apparently I am not the only one who trusts her car to this excellent shop, for the first time in 20 years I had to park on the side street for my 10 am appointment. That is a great sign. Cecilia

Cecilia Brown

Jan 23, 2020

As always Greggster is the best…. stopped by Saturday… screw in tire… Greg wasn’t even working, happened to be there to close up, took the time to pull screw and fix my tire, no charge!!! Awesome shop… always recommend to friends!

Scott Reese

Jan 23, 2020

Have been taking all my cars here for service for over 15 years. Excellent service, reliable, and prompt.

Mary Ann Guarino

Jan 23, 2020

I always thought big box repair shops ie Pep Boys, Sears to name a few give best service. I was wrong. I have brought my company van into their shop just to give them a test run and they were honest and prices not so bad. I figured company van means they have a unlimited fund to rip people off. That was not the case. They only did the work that was needed to be done. Nothing added just to inflate the price up for more profit. I now bring all my cars and the company van into their shop. I had a timing belt replaced there and after pricing around to all the local shops in walking distance they were right in par with all of them. It seems they don’t rush through the car just to get you out of there. I like a shop to take their time and do the job right the first time. That is hard to find these days.

Oil Man

Jan 23, 2020

Training learning more

ruben alexander

Jan 23, 2020

Training learning more

Gregory Bracco

Jan 23, 2020

Training learning more

Seif Maged

Jan 23, 2020

Automotive Technology of West Islip has been my one and only service station for many years, through many cars. My earliest dealings with Tom, Jackie and Greg have established a peace of mind for me, knowing my vehicles will be expertly cared for, with guaranteed parts, and reasonable pricing. Tom in the office is a pleasure to work with, setting up appointments, and the men in the shop are knowledgeable, neat and clean. No need to go anywhere else. Thanks guys, I’ll surely be there again.

Bob B

Jan 23, 2020

I have been using Automotive tech for 30 years and have always gotten the best service. They are very courteous, and so timely. They always go the extra mile. Greg and Tom the owner are the best. I highly recommend them, also they are very trustworthy and priced more then fair…

Annie Rock

Jan 23, 2020

Always friendly, reliable and honest!

S S

Jan 23, 2020

Trustworthy, honest and courteous.

CAROL A WERNER

Jan 23, 2020

Good

Joyce Sloane

Jan 23, 2020

Good

Christopher Smith

Jan 23, 2020

Good

Karen Richter

Jan 23, 2020

They’re the best! I’ve been dealing with them for many years and have always been pleased with their work and courtesy. I’m a fan!

Rosemary Johnson

Jan 23, 2020

Excellent & trustworthy service, What more can you ask for !!!

John Lopez

Jan 23, 2020

I was very happy with the service, and work here when I needed emergency repairs.

Ryan Sweeney

Jan 23, 2020

Honest and dependable

Mik B

Jan 23, 2020

Honest and dependable

Robert Fontana

Jan 23, 2020

Honest and dependable

Steve C

Jan 23, 2020

Love the friendly staff. Very honest and do great work. Always get an appointment in a timely manner. Been using them for 5 years now. Won’t go anywhere else

Peter Kohlmann

Jan 23, 2020

Love the friendly staff. Very honest and do great work. Always get an appointment in a timely manner. Been using them for 5 years now. Won’t go anywhere else

Jill Mika

Jan 23, 2020

Love the friendly staff. Very honest and do great work. Always get an appointment in a timely manner. Been using them for 5 years now. Won’t go anywhere else

Denise Bono Dankowski

Jan 23, 2020

Love the friendly staff. Very honest and do great work. Always get an appointment in a timely manner. Been using them for 5 years now. Won’t go anywhere else

Laura Gomez

Jan 23, 2020

Love the friendly staff. Very honest and do great work. Always get an appointment in a timely manner. Been using them for 5 years now. Won’t go anywhere else

Richardjoann Nieves

Jan 23, 2020

Anyone looking for an HONEST and incredible mechanic? Highly recommend Automotive Technology of West Islip! We drove 20 minutes to this place because that kind of service in mechanics is worth it!

Greg Jake Jacques

Jan 23, 2020

I have been a customer for a very long time. Tommy is one of the most honest people you will ever meet. Greg is a great guy too. Tommy’s staff is personable and they will take great care of you!! Thanks for always being there for me guys !!!

Diane Cuccia

Jan 23, 2020

Meet Tom the owner today. I am looking for new
Mechanic for my work trucks. He is on the premises at all times and helps work on the car.
I trust everything when owner is on sight.

Daniel Krulder

Jan 23, 2020

I’ve been going to Automotive technology for years and Tommy, Gregg and the guys are always courteous and accommodating. They are extremely knowledgeable about everything and the work is done timely and efficiently. And they even fix flat tires for free! Highly recommended in you live in the area or not.

Joe Pietaro

Jan 23, 2020

Tommy tuned up my snow blower. Problem with back firing. Cleaned the carburetor and adjusted it never ran so good. Yesterday performed great. Ran better than new��

Ronald Lombino

Jan 23, 2020

Best shop around recommended shops anyone

Robert Gonzalez

Jan 23, 2020

I just moved to the area and was looking for a shop for my state inspection and came across Automotive Technology.. had such a great experience. Everyone in the shop was friendly and welcoming. I definitely will be returning! Highly recommended.

Jessica D.

Jan 23, 2020

The positive battery terminal on my car corroded away. On my ford fusions 2010 this isn’t an easy wire cutting swap out with a new conductor kind of fix since the terminal is connected to some sort of fuse and other things. I went to ford dealership to see if they actually sold the terminal so I could attempt to swap it out myself but they don’t even carry it. They only had the terminal with the wiring and that was the only way they sold it. So with the purchase of the new terminal plus the work ford told me it would of been approx 500 dollar fix. I had been to automotive technology before for another issue with my vehicle and since they were close I called them up. The guys there are awesome and we’re able to get my car up and running for an easy 280. Can’t thank these guys enough so I figured I’d write up a review.

Fabio G.

Jan 23, 2020

Like most car owners (well procrastinators) I waited until the last minute to schedule an oil change and my usual mechanic in in Queens.  I’ve worked in the area for about 8 years and several people recommend them so I finally went.
They are awesome, stand by their work and accommodate this procrastinator (as best they can obviously). Will continue to go there for sure.

Jenny P.

Jan 23, 2020

Thomas Esposito and his fine crew have been keeping our vehicles running for nearly 20 years now and there isn’t anyone I would trust to fix our cars and trucks. The team at Auto Tech are always clean, polite and professional. They always take the time to explain what needs to be done and to give options before they do anything. If you’re looking for a reliable and trustworthy repair shop you’ve found it at Auto Tech.

D B.

Jan 23, 2020

Been trusting my cars and my families cars with these guys for years. Fast and dependable service. Look for coupons in local fliers.

Eric S.

Jan 23, 2020

Always like to sponsor our neighborhood businesses and this one is definitely one of our favorites! They are always on point, courteous and honest! thanks again
Jose

Jose J.

Jan 23, 2020

Tom. You’re right. I apologize. Rereading my review I don’t know why I said you are trying to make a quick buck. I must have been having a bad week. You’ve always been fair. Again I apologize for the harsh words.

Dennis A.

Jan 23, 2020

I just purchased a new car out of state and brought it in for a NYS inspection.  This is my second visit to Auto Technology of West Islip.  Once again everyone was welcoming and professional.  I made an appointment with Greg on the phone for Saturday morning.  Which was quick and easy.

Saturday rolled around so my wife and I brought our dog with us to get some errands done before picking up the car later in the day.  When I dropped the car off Tom told me he would have me out asap.  He was right.  We took our dog for a walk and when we returned the car was ready to go.

Tom has been extremely courteous and professional every time I’ve stopped by.  Luckily I havent needed anything major done, but if I do in the future I know where I am bringing my cars.

Michael R.

Jan 23, 2020

With my dad being a retired mechanic, and me working on cars with him from childhood until my early 20’s, we always had a high standard looking for a reputable mechanic since my father is now disabled and I have herniated disks in my neck preventing me from even doing own oil changes any more.

We moved from Nassau to Suffolk over 5 years ago and were nervous to find a new mechanic since we liked our old one a lot. Luckily my very picky (in a good way!) father-in-law recommended to us Automotive Technology of West Islip.

The rare times my family needed work done to our cars, either Greg or Tom patiently described things to us on the phone, educated us, were descriptive, and are always very personable. The company does great work, are prompt, reliable, polite, and great quality!

I would highly recommend Automotive Technology of West Islip if you live anywhere nearby for a great mechanic!

Mike M.

Jan 23, 2020

Called the other day for an inspection on a brand new corvette. They got me right in and handled my car with care !! A bunch of great guys at a neighborhood place !!!

John L.

Jan 23, 2020

I am leaving only 4 stars because of poor management style and miscommunication. That having been said Gregg is a very dedicated and good mechanic. When I came back with a problem he got on it right away to fix it. The car is now running good.

Gary R.

Jan 23, 2020

Upon seeing my original review I was contacted by their owner and discussed this situation at length and amends were made, by far.

Tom went above and beyond to correct the issues caused by the initial repair, even addressing several completely unrelated issues; one that I new about and was next on my to do list, a few I had no idea.

When the check engine light came back on while addressing all of these things, a new code pointed out a small leak in the EVAP system.  They pinpointed where it was for me as well, and discussed the likeliest course of action to take in resolving it.  Again, another thing they did as a courtesy that had nothing to do with the original repair.

I was offered a rental car as well while they were making these repairs, and tried to time them to be done over the weekend so it wouldn’t be necessary, but ended up accepting for a couple of days once the weekend passed as I needed to get to work.

Long and short of this experience is that while trying to bring in new service by using an online price estimator, they had tried to adhere to what I was given.  While I was understanding with this particular repair that parts could break and would add to this price, I could see their hesitation in bringing these to a customer’s attention.  It was definitely *not* lack of knowledge that lead to this issue, but fear of a complaint that I wouldn’t have been paying what I was told.  As the daughter of a mechanic (his own shop since 1979) I’m not one of those people.

If I still lived near the area I would likely go back to them after they went so far to correct this mistake, but will likely instead visit their sister shop in East Meadow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I had an oil leak that I knew was due to worn/cracked valve cover gaskets on my Nissan Xterra.  I also knew it would be a lot of work to do and poked around online and came across a quote that seemed too low to be true.  The diagnosis was confirmed and I had an appointment for Feb 20th 2017.  When they took it in, they said they would need to replace both sides, not just the passenger side like I had originally thought.  However, they would stick to the original quote even though it would take more time to do it and the gaskets come in a set anyway — I wouldn’t have had an issue paying more for the labor at all.

After a couple hours pass, my truck was taken out a couple times for a test drive, and was updated that they were having an issue with the EGR valve.  Not too long after, I’m told its ready, I pay and go to drive home.  Immediately there are issues, its very shaky and backfiring, and go right back.  After I pull up a mechanic stops me in the doorway and asks me to pop open the hood, where he then pulls out a wire he wrapped with electrical tape!  He explains he thought it would hold, but it didn’t, and I’m really going to need new wires…  Get a quote, pay for them, wait awhile for them to get delivered and installed.

After that’s done, its still not driving right, and the check engine light comes on and the power steering feels very weak.  I didn’t have time to take it back then, but stop at an autozone to get the codes checked and its something with the O2 sensor and the EGR valve.  I didn’t have ANY of these issues before coming here!

I took it back to them again the following Saturday, this time dropping it off instead of waiting, and a few hours later get a call that its done, they just needed to tighten some connections.  Everything feels fine except the power steering still, but the check engine light has gone off… until I drove a few miles back home.  Checked it at autozone again and its the EGR valve.

I figured I would take it somewhere else to see where these guys screwed up at some point, and decided to write this review today because now the original issue of feeling like its going to stall is coming back, leaving me driving with two feet.

My main issue is that they TEST DROVE IT and gave it back to me 3 times like nothing was wrong!  I wish I could go back to have them fix these issues but I doubt new ones won’t come up.  Beware!

Beverlee S.

Jan 23, 2020

This place was recommended to us after we left our auto mechanic after 15 years. Everyone is super friendly. They are very honest and trust worthy. They want your long term business not just a quick buck from you at the moment. That’s my kind of place.

Colleen W.

Jan 23, 2020